THE LIGHTHOUSE

THE LIGHTHOUSE

Retaining all the original features but providing the modern facilities you need.

BOOK NOW

BOOK NOW

CALL MENAI HOLIDAYS
01248 430258
FIND US
Llaneilian, Anglesey

THE LIGHTHOUSE

The current lighthouse was built in 1835. Over the last 10 years, the lighthouse has been slowly restored, retaining all the original features but providing the modern facilities you need.

It consists of:
  • A lighthouse tower, which is still operational as a lighthouse
  • The Head Keeper’s house which is occupied by the owners 
  • The East and West Keepers’ Cottages, which are available as 4 star self catering holiday cottages.
From the Keepers cottages and the headland there are stunning views across the Irish Sea and along the Anglesey or North Wales coasts. On clear days it is possible to see Ireland, the Isle of Man, Dumfries and Galloway, the Lake District and the Clwydian range in North Wales.
BOOK NOW

THE OWNERS

The lighthouse is currently owned by Robin and Iona Beckmann, who live in the house with their two children Anna and Edward. The family bought the lighthouse from Mersey Docks and Harbour Board back in 2001.

Robin’s brother and sister-in-law run an eco chic hotel for those interested in art, painting, photography and the environment. They are based near Velez Blanco in the Sierra Maria in Spain, their website is Cortijada Los Gázquez http://www.losgazquez.com/en/ – it is really worth visiting, the web site and the place.
GUESTBOOK

THE HISTORY

Point Lynas Lighthouse has a fascinating history. As early as 1766, the need was felt for a station on Anglesey where ships making for Liverpool could pick up pilots. The Liverpool Pilotage Service, after examining several sites, eventually chose Point Lynas.

At first the early pilots used a farmhouse as their lookout post. After 1779 they used two oil lamps with Hutchinsons small metal reflectors set into a tower and showing in two directions. The new lighthouse was built in 1835 by the Mersey Docks and Harbour Board at a cost £1,165. It is unusual in having a castellated tower and walls giving it the appearance of a Victorian country house rather than a lighthouse. The light is behind a large bow window on the ground floor.

Trinity House assumed responsibility for Point Lynas on 
2nd April, 1973.
The lighthouse is a low castellated structure painted white with the round lens room connected to the seaward side of the building. The station is fully automated, the power source being electric, and is backed up by standby generators which cut in should the mains power fail.

There was also an automatic fog detector which used to start the fog signal should the visibility drop to less than 2½ miles, which has recently been turned off.

More history is available in the blog at Pirates of the Caribbean... and Point Lynas. A good full history of the lighthouse is in a book called ‘Lighthouses of Liverpool Bay’ by John and Diane Robinson, available from the history press.
MORE HISTORY

POINT LYNAS LIGHTHOUSE

Point Lynas Lighthouse provides first-class holiday accommodation on the North Anglesey coast.

OUR LATEST NEWS

Subscribe to our newsletter to find out about new classes, workshops and promotions. 

Share by: